Blog Day 8 “Rest for the Weary”

Posted: October 23, 2009 in Uncategorized

So as I had a week to ponder why I had to rest through sickness instead of take a real vacation (I really was sick and I hate sick rest), I realized that pioneering is a lot harder then we all thought it would be in Los Angeles.

Don’t get me wrong, I love what we are doing, but with the recession in America, our own personal finances just making it, and with the constant transition that a city like Los Angeles brings, we have had a whole new learning curve and faith level to exercise.

The hardest thing is learning how to keep a pace running along these new and different paths then we have been on. I kept saying over and over to myself “I need to keep pace, I need to keep pace” but I realized I don’t know how to. It’s like learning how to run at higher altitude, but I am learning. Things that would have stretched me beyond limits are now normal for me which is totally cool.

I have watched  many people that we respect deeply who get on a role of activity and burn out but don’t slow down and then shut down. Its amazing when you have a good heart what stupid things you will do because you feel like you have to. I want to thrive for the rest of my life not just for a season. I have been in ministry and high performance for 15 years and want to last the rest of my life, especially because I started so early.

So, in the midst of writing books, working on the church, traveling 10-15 days a month, taking classes, and doing life in a city like LA where there are constant great visitors and great things to do every moment of your spare time, I am learning how to rest and be me.

So here is the key: Intimacy with God that is true relationship not just intercession, or ministry focused, or missional time. When you spend time with your wife you don’t take her to work, you take her to something that pours into both of you. I love spending time with Jesus that feels like it pours back into Him and thus increases Him in me.

So thats it. Have fun my friends, REST!

Comments
  1. Grace Sng says:

    Hi Shawn, I stumbled upon your blog for the first time today and I couldn’t agree with you more on the Rest of God and how great a need and a precious gift it is to the Body of Christ! It has taken me over 8 years of going non-stop and then finally coming close to burn out. Finally, I’m embracing the role of Mary which is to sit at the feet of Jesus and linger in His presence and to discover the depths of His grace.. it’s awesome!!

Leave a Reply

